Deactivate your account
How we click the link under the heading "Deactivate your account," which also describes what happens when an account id deactivated.
Are you sure?
Here we're told what happens when we deactivate our account and that our friends will miss us. We're given examples of some friends who will miss us.
We're also asked to select a reason for why we're leaving.
A potential solution to our problem
When we select a reason for why we're leaving, a modal pops up telling us how our problem with Facebook could be resolved.
After leaving a reason, and clicking the Deactivate button, we're told one more time what happens when we deactivate. We click "Deactivate Now" to confirm.
Our account has now been deactivated (not deleted). We can log back in to activate it.